Pesticide applicator license by state: lawn care and landscaping
Checked September 2026
To spray weed control, insecticide or fungicide on other people's lawns, most states want a Core exam plus a turf or ornamental category exam, then a separate business license with proof of liability insurance. Across the 22 states below, the insurance floor runs from $5,000 per person in California to $1,000,000 per occurrence in New York. Fees vary just as widely, and some agencies publish none. Each row links to the agency page it came from.
Ask what license you need to spray a lawn and the answer changes at every state line. This page collects what 22 state agencies say on their own pages: which license a commercial lawn care applicator holds, how the exam works, the fees the page states, renewal and continuing education, and the insurance or bond the state wants on file before it issues the business license. Where a page was silent, the cell says so.
How the pattern works
Private, commercial and technician licenses
"Private applicator" on these agency pages means a grower. North Carolina describes private certification as applying restricted use pesticides to produce an agricultural commodity on land you own or lease. Michigan, Illinois and Virginia draw the same line. A lawn care company falls on the other side, under the commercial license (or the state's name for it), and that stays true even if you never touch a restricted use product.
Several states add a lower tier for crew members. Michigan certifies commercial applicators for $75 and registers applicators for $45, but a registered applicator can't use restricted use pesticides and trains under a company program approved by the state. Pennsylvania has a registered technician for $30 a year, New York a commercial technician who can apply general use products without supervision. If your helpers only spray general use products, ask whether your state has a lane like this.
What counts as spraying
The line is not "restricted use only." Texas says anyone applying any pesticide, general use included, to ornamentals, trees, lawns or weeds for hire needs a license. Ohio requires one for anyone hired to apply any pesticide to someone else's property. Maryland's business license explicitly covers lawn care companies using weed and feed or organic pesticides. Illinois exempts a person applying a general use product on their own property, but not anyone applying one in the course of employment.
Person and business
Most states license the person and the business separately. Georgia wants a commercial applicator license and a pesticide contractor license. Michigan says a certification doesn't let you operate a business that applies pesticides for hire. Washington issues a joint company and individual license, and Illinois attaches the insurance certificate to the commercial applicator license. So the insurance filing follows the business in most states. That makes the last column the piece your agent has to produce.
Pesticide applicator license requirements by state (22 states so far)
All rows were read on the agency pages on September 29, 2026 unless the row says otherwise. Fees are the ones the agency page states, and exam fees charged by testing vendors are labelled as such. "Not stated" means the page we read didn't say.
| State | License and lawn care category | Exam and how to apply | Fees, renewal and continuing education | Insurance or bond |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | Maintenance Gardener Pest Control Business license for gardeners who do pest control alongside mowing and yard work. A business whose main job is pest control needs a Pest Control Business license instead | Apply to the Department of Pesticide Regulation. A supervisor must hold a Qualified Applicator Certificate (Q-Maintenance Gardener or Landscape Maintenance) or a Qualified Applicator License. The packet doesn't describe the exam | $180 per calendar year for a new license; $360 to renew for a two-year cycle | $5,000 per person and $10,000 per occurrence bodily injury, $5,000 property damage; or a certificate of deposit, bond or self-insurance statement. Workers' comp if you have employees |
| Colorado | Commercial applicator business license, with a linked Qualified Supervisor licensed in Turf Pest Control (category 206) or Ornamental Pest Control | Supervisors pass exams and apply with field experience documented; operators need no experience | Business $350 a year, calendar year, $35 late fee before February 1. Supervisor or operator license $100, valid three years, continuing education credits to renew | Proof of liability insurance, minimum 400,000 (the page prints no dollar sign) |
| Florida | Pest control business license with a certified operator in Lawn and Ornamental Pest Control. Crews that only treat ornamental plants and beds can hold the Limited Commercial Landscape Maintenance certification, which excludes turf and weed and feed | FDACS exams. Certified operator exam $300 per category; limited certification exam $150 per category | Business license $300; employee ID card $10. Renewal not stated on this page | Bodily injury $250,000 per person and $500,000 per occurrence, property damage $250,000 per occurrence and $500,000 aggregate; or $500,000 combined single limit |
| Georgia | Commercial applicator license in category 24, Ornamental and Turf, plus a pesticide contractor license for the business | Computerized exam at Georgia technical colleges, 70% on the general standards and one category. $45 exam fee to the colleges per attempt | Applicator license $90, valid five years. Category 24 needs 10 recertification hours. Contractor license renews annually | Contractors must satisfy financial responsibility requirements; the agency page gives no amounts. The regulation, as reproduced by Cornell LII, sets ground contractors at $25,000 bodily injury and $10,000 property damage per occurrence with a $25,000 aggregate, or a $20,000 surety bond |
| Illinois | Commercial applicator (for hire) with Turf and Ornamental categories; operators work under a licensed applicator | 100-question General Standards exam (70 to pass) plus 50-question category exams. Training through University of Illinois Extension | Applicator $300 for three years; operator $240. Continuing education not stated | Bodily injury $50,000 per person and $100,000 per occurrence with a $500,000 aggregate, property damage $50,000; or $100,000 combined single limit with $500,000 aggregate. 30-day cancellation notice. Not-for-hire licenses need no certificate |
| Indiana | Pesticide business license plus a for-hire applicator license. Certification categories include 3a Ornamental and 3b Turf | Core exam then a category exam, up to three attempts in twelve months. Certification lasts five years; licenses renew each December 31 | Fees not stated. Renew certification by retesting or by approved training hours | $300,000 general liability, combined single limit, for pesticide use (fertilizer not required) |
| Iowa | The company is licensed and the applicator is certified. Category 3, ornamental and turf, per a department summary dated 2013 | Core and category exams, online or at test sites. The current page says online exams are proctored for a fee. A January 2022 release put that at $25 per exam and in-person sessions at no charge | $25 company license per the current renewal checklist, and Iowa Code 206 caps the annual fee at $25. Commercial applicator certification is $75 for three years under the same chapter | Certificate of insurance required, with chemical coverage stated on it; declaration pages are refused. Iowa Code 206.13 sets the minimum at $100,000 for property damage and public liability, each separately, or $100,000 per occurrence with a $300,000 annual aggregate. A surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit also qualifies |
| Maryland | Pesticide business license (covers weed and feed) with at least one certified applicator | State exams every other month in Annapolis, Salisbury and Frederick; Core plus a category, 70%. One year of experience or a qualifying degree or course first | Business $150 a year; certification $75 a year for the first category, $25 for each additional; $10 retake fee. Yearly recertification credits | Bodily injury $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence; property damage $15,000 per occurrence and $30,000 aggregate. Workers' comp if you have employees |
| Michigan | Certified commercial applicator or registered applicator, plus a pesticide application business license. Business categories include 3A Turfgrass and 3B Ornamental | Metro Institute proctors exams at test centers or remotely and charges a convenience fee; MDARD proctors the Core exam on its own schedule | Certification $75, registration $45, business license $100 (expires December 31). Credentials expire every third year on December 31; renew with seminar credits or retest | $100,000 bodily injury and $25,000 property damage per occurrence in most categories; aerial, fumigation and right-of-way need a $300,000 combined single limit |
| Minnesota | Commercial applicator license for anyone spraying "for hire," with Core (A) plus Turf and Ornamentals (E) | Exams at state-approved testing locations; 70% to pass. Apply and pay before testing | $76 a year ($50 license, $21 surcharge, $5 processing). Attend a recertification workshop in the year on your card, 2 or 3 year cycle by category | $50,000 bodily injury per person and per occurrence, $25,000 property damage, deductible up to $500. A bond or a net assets statement of $50,000 or more also qualifies |
| Missouri | Certified commercial applicator, Category 3, Ornamental and Turf Pest Control | Core plus a category exam at Pearson VUE | $65 a year. Recertify every three years by approved program or reexamination | Surety bond or liability insurance of at least $50,000 per occurrence, which need not cover damage to the crops, plants or land you are working on |
| Montana | Commercial applicator with the Ornamental and Turf Pest Control classification | Core plus category exams, 80% to pass | $85 a year, plus $25 for each of the first two operators and $10 for each after. Licenses expire December 31 | $30,000 liability insurance ($50,000 for aerial). Insurance only; a bond doesn't qualify |
| New York | Certified commercial applicator or technician, plus a business registration for each location | Core and category exams; recertify every three years | Business registration $900, valid three years | General liability of at least $1,000,000 per occurrence, with DEC as certificate holder and each registered address on the certificate |
| North Carolina | 026 Commercial Ground Applicator, category L, Ornamental and Turf; the page names landscapers and lawn care | Core plus category L, in person or online; online adds $26 per exam. Some exams in Spanish | Certified five years, $75 a year. Category L needs 10 credits per five-year period | Not stated on the license page |
| Ohio | Commercial applicator: Core plus a category such as 6a Ornamental, 6c Ornamental Weed Control or 8 Turf. Separate pesticide business license | Written exams at no cost at proctored sites around the state. Age 18 required from January 1, 2027 | Fee amounts not stated. Both licenses expire September 30 each year; recertify every third year with 5 hours of training or retest | $300,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate and $300,000 products and completed operations, plus a professional liability policy or endorsement for the properties you treat |
| Pennsylvania | Commercial applicator: Core plus category 6 (ornamental and shade trees) and 7 (lawn and turf). Business needs its own pesticide application business license | In-person only: paper sessions at PDA offices, or computer exams through Metro test centers at higher fees | Core exam $50, $10 per category, license $40 a year (expires September 30); business license $35 a year. Recertify on a three-year cycle with 6 core credits | $100,000 bodily injury and $100,000 property damage per occurrence with completed operations, deductible no more than $2,500, PDA as certificate holder |
| South Carolina | Commercial license, Category 3, Ornamental and Turf (licensing is mandatory in this category) | Core and category exams through Clemson's Department of Pesticide Regulation, or reciprocity if you hold a license in a partner state | $50 new license fee. Renewal not stated | An insurer-completed Evidence of Financial Responsibility form is required for new applicators. For Category 3 the form lists a $50,000 minimum with a $100,000 annual aggregate, and a surety bond must give identical coverage |
| Tennessee | Horticulture, Lawn and Turf license, which requires C03 Ornamental and Turf certification. The company needs a pest control charter | Certification exam $25 online. License exam $150, online, after two years working under a licensee, a related degree or a license elsewhere | Charter $200 a year (pro-rated); license $20 per category per year (pro-rated). Certification renews with continuing education points | Charter needs a $10,000 surety bond and liability insurance of $250,000 per incident and $500,000 aggregate |
| Texas | Two routes: an Ag Pest license in category 3A Landscape Maintenance, or a Structural Pest Control Service license in Lawn and Ornamental or Weed Control. Fertilizer-only work needs no TDA license | Ag Pest exams run through Metro Institute at $64 per category exam, with retests at $64 | Structural business license $300. Ag Pest license fee not stated. Ag Pest licensees recertify every year with 5 continuing education credits | Ag Pest applicator businesses applying restricted-use, state-limited-use or regulated herbicides: $100,000 property damage and $100,000 bodily injury per occurrence, or $200,000 aggregate. Structural business: $500,000 with a $1,000,000 aggregate |
| Virginia | Certified commercial applicator (for hire), who must work for a licensed business, plus a pesticide business license for each location | The business license exam is waived if the applicant or an employee is a certified commercial applicator | Business license $75 a year per the agency's application packet; applicator fees not stated. Business licenses expire March 31 each year | Certificate of insurance: $100,000 property damage, $100,000 for one person, $300,000 per occurrence |
| Washington | Commercial Applicator, a joint company and individual license, plus a Washington business license | Laws and Safety exam plus a category exam for each area you work in, or a valid reciprocal license | $250 application fee; $27 per apparatus after the first. Renew annually on a five-year recertification cycle | $50,000 public liability and $50,000 property damage with a deductible of no more than $5,000; or a $100,000 surety bond |
| Wisconsin | Certification in a category, an individual commercial applicator license, and a job at or ownership of a licensed pesticide business | Free exams at six proctored sites, or Pearson VUE computer exams. Certification lasts five years | Business license $70, individual license $40, each plus a state surcharge. Licenses expire December 31; late fee 20% | Not stated on the fact sheet |
States we couldn't confirm
Massachusetts and New Jersey are not in the table. Their agency sites (Mass.gov and the New Jersey DEP) blocked automated reads when this page was built, so nothing here about those two states comes from their agencies. The remaining 26 states have not been checked yet. The count will grow as they are, and a state only goes in the table after its agency page has been read.
Fertilizer-only work
Fertilizer-only work is treated differently from state to state. Texas says applicators who apply only fertilizer don't need a TDA license. Florida requires every commercial fertilizer applicator to hold a Limited Urban Commercial Fertilizer certification for turf and ornamental areas, including residential lawns, after proof of Green Industry Best Management Practices training. Minnesota says applications of fertilizer require a fertilizer license separate from the pesticide license. Indiana's business license also covers fertilizer applied to turf for hire, though its insurance rule only applies to pesticide use. Louisiana licenses fertilizing under its horticulture license, covered on the landscaping license page.
From license to policy
The insurance column is what the agency will accept to issue a license. It isn't what a burned lawn costs you, and several states word their minimums so that damage to the treated lawn itself falls outside them. The pesticide applicator insurance guide covers the endorsement that answers for chemical damage and how to read the pollution wording on your policy. If you're also hiring for spraying season, the workers' comp guide shows when helpers trigger coverage, and the certificate of insurance guide explains what the state's certificate holder line asks for. Installing beds, sod or irrigation is a different set of rules, on the landscaping license page.