Idaho pesticide license for lawn care: small hand-spray crews are exempt
Checked October 2026
Idaho exempts a lawn business from the pesticide license if it applies only general use products with hand-powered equipment, employs two or fewer sprayers and does not hold itself out as a professional applicator. Everyone else needs a professional applicator license from the Idaho State Department of Agriculture: the Core exam plus Ornamental Pest at 70 percent, $300 for a five-year term, 40 recertification credits, and proof of financial responsibility of $50,000 and $100,000 bodily injury plus $50,000 property damage.
Idaho's statute exempts the small lawn operator from the pesticide license. The conditions: hand-powered equipment, lawns or ornamental trees and shrubs, nothing classified as restricted use, two or fewer employees who apply pesticides, and no holding out as a professional applicator. That is Idaho Code 22-3404(8), read in an archived copy dated 2026-05-13. Neither the statute nor any Idaho State Department of Agriculture (ISDA) page we read defines "holding himself out." A crew that advertises weed control is the case to put to ISDA before anyone relies on this.
The exemption stops at hand-powered gear and restricted-use products
The wording is narrow. The same subsection exempts a person who applies non-restricted pesticides for himself or on an exchange of service basis and does not publicly hold himself out as a professional applicator. It also exempts research and demonstration staff, and veterinarians. Everyone else who sprays for pay is past the line.
Our reading is that a truck-mounted or engine-driven sprayer is not hand-powered, and that a third employee who sprays puts the business over the limit of two. The pages we read define neither point, and whether the owner counts among the two is not stated. The exemption lifts all of subsection (3), and the proof of financial responsibility is item (3)(c) inside it, so an exempt operator files no insurance proof with ISDA, by our reading.
Past that line, the license belongs to the sprayer
A professional applicator is anyone who applies pesticides on another person's land or property for compensation, and the statute says no one may act as one without a license. The same section defines a pesticide as any substance meant to destroy or control a weed, which takes in the herbicide in a weed and feed bag. Straight fertilizer is defined as its own thing, and the professional applicator definition names only pesticides. Whether ISDA licenses fertilizer-only work is not stated on the pages we read.
The license goes to a person. ISDA's professional application form asks for the applicant and the employer, with boxes for a change of employer and for adding a second employer. The pages we read describe no separate business or company pesticide license.
Idaho does license landscape installers, in a different ISDA division. Plant Industries says anyone who engages in the installation of landscape plants or acts as a landscape contractor must obtain a nursery license first, and its FAQ sheet puts new and on-time renewal at $100 and late renewal at $125, expiring each December 31. Neither sets a rule for mowing or spraying crews. The one mention of maintenance firms is a description of a trade association.
Ornamental Pest is the lawn category, and Idaho merged two to make it
Every professional license starts with the Applicator Core Competency category (CO). The lawn category is Ornamental Pest (OP), which the 2026 rule describes as controlling pests in the maintenance and production of ornamental plants and turf. Until 2024 that work was split between Ornamental Herbicide and Ornamental Insecticide/Fungicide. ISDA's 2024 category chart folds both into OP and says a license holding a merged category rolls into the new one automatically.
The exam rules sit in the rule copy ISDA links, which is a marked-up draft, so we read its tracked changes. The applicant must be at least 18. The pass mark is 70 percent. ISDA staff or an authorized agent proctor the exams, you wait at least one day to retake, and a score is good for 12 months from the exam date. ISDA's exam page sends you to a session lookup that includes Metro exams. What a Metro session charges is not stated on the pages we read.
ISDA's 2024 study material guide lists the Idaho Pesticide Applicator Training Manual for Core, and Turf & Ornamental Weed Management Principles plus Introduction to Insect & Disease Management for OP. ISDA now links a 2026 edition of that guide, which we could not open. The free download list carries the Core manual but neither OP title.
$300 buys five years, and the last-name calendar is gone
Until July 1, 2026, a professional license ran up to two years for $120, and your last name decided the year: A to L renewed in odd years, M to Z in even years. ISDA's rule FAQ, archived 2026-06-12, says licenses issued after June 30, 2026 run five years, existing holders move to five years when they renew, and the first letter of your last name no longer matters. It says fees did not rise: $60 a year, so $300 for five.
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Professional applicator license, five years | $300 |
| Commercial apprentice license, two years | $120 |
| Exam fee per category | $10 |
| Nursery license, separate division | $100, or $125 if late |
The professional figure appears in both the FAQ and the rule copy's fee section, and the $10 exam fee in the rule copy. The $120 apprentice amount appears only in the rule copy's tracked changes, and the FAQ gives none. The nursery figures come from the Plant Industries FAQ sheet. The statute adds $5 when an exam is requested off the regular schedule. For one person taking Core and OP, our sum is $320 to ISDA, plus any Metro charge and any off-schedule exam fee.
The sources disagree on one point. The professional application form we read, archived 2026-01-09, shows $120 for a full term and $60 for a reduced one by last name. ISDA's applicator licensing page, archived 2026-08-14, says new and renewed licenses reflect the 2026 rule's terms and fees, and links a 2025-2026 form edition we could not open. Ask ISDA licensing, at 208-332-8600, what a renewal invoice reads before you pay one.
Insurance: $50,000 and $100,000, and not on the lawn you are treating
The rule lets you prove financial responsibility with liability insurance from a company licensed in Idaho, a bond the director approves, a cash certificate of deposit in escrow, an annuity or an irrevocable letter of credit. The minimums:
- Bodily injury: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per occurrence.
- Property damage: $50,000 per occurrence.
- Maximum deductible: $5,000.
The rule also says the immediate property being treated is not required to be covered. Our reading is that the minimum is aimed at the neighbor's fence and the creek, and that a burned lawn can fall outside it. Illinois asks for the same per-person and per-occurrence amounts and adds a $500,000 aggregate. The Idaho pages we read state no aggregate.
ISDA's certificate form, revised January 23, 2019, is completed by the insurer and filed at the start and at each renewal of the policy period. It has a line for exclusions, and the rule says any exclusion has to be listed on a form the director approves. The statute suspends a license automatically if you stop maintaining the coverage, until ISDA receives verification. The rule adds that you tell ISDA in writing immediately after a cancellation or a cut below the minimums. The pesticide applicator insurance guide covers the endorsement side, and the certificate of insurance guide covers the paperwork. A professional who does not apply pesticides can file an exemption form instead.
Crew members: the apprentice license, with a ceiling of two per supervisor
The commercial apprentice license is Idaho's entry lane. The applicant passes the Core exam at 70 percent, then applies on ISDA's apprentice form. The 2026 rule has the application name the supervising professional, a field the form edition we read does not have. The rule lets an apprentice apply general use products in OP and several other categories, and bars restricted-use products, aerial work, fumigation and drones. Supervision is "limited," meaning the supervising professional holds the needed categories, stays in immediate contact by voice, radio or phone, and supervises no more than two apprentices at once. Companies keep a roster showing that ratio.
Under the FAQ, new apprentice licenses run two years from July 1, 2026, and existing one-year licenses are extended to two. They cannot be renewed. Before one expires, the apprentice has to pass a second category exam and apply for a professional license. The rule also says an apprentice license is not reciprocated with other states and that apprentices cannot supervise anyone.
Two points stay open. The rule's definitions also describe a noncertified applicator working under on-site supervision, with the supervisor physically present and able to see the applicator, and the pages we read do not say whether an unlicensed helper may spray general use products that way without the apprentice license. And the rule says apprentices must meet Section 100, which holds the financial responsibility requirement, while the apprentice form we read lists no insurance step. Put both questions to ISDA.
Renewal runs on 40 credits across five years
The rule starts the five-year recertification period on the next January 1 after you first get licensed and ends it December 31 of the fifth year. By that wording, a license issued in October 2026 would run through December 31, 2031, our arithmetic. Recertifying takes 40 credits, one per 50 minutes of accredited instruction, in any pattern across the period, with no annual minimum or maximum, per the FAQ. Extra credits don't carry over. The old two-year cycle needed 16.
Credits come from ISDA seminars, listed on its recertification page, or from online modules, where ISDA warns some providers charge a fee. The alternative is passing the Core exam and every category exam again. Miss the credits and you retake the exams. A license may be renewed up to 12 months after it expires.
The reciprocity lists disagree, and city crews pay no license fee
Idaho law lets the director license a nonresident without an exam if the home state's requirements are substantially in line (22-3410). ISDA's good standing request form lists Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming as the states it writes letters for, and the Montana, Oregon, Utah and Wyoming pages here cover what those agencies want in return. The professional application names only Montana, Oregon, Utah and Wyoming. The state-by-state hub shows where Idaho sits among the rest.
The statute exempts federal, state and other governmental agencies from the licensing fees, and ISDA's professional form repeats it for government work only. That is a fee waiver, not a license waiver. Whether a private company spraying for a city counts is not stated on the pages we read.
Records are kept two years, and the wind limit defaults to 10 mph
Application records are kept two years, and ISDA can demand copies. They record the customer, the property, the product and EPA registration number, the amount, the date and time, and the wind speed and direction, among other items. Without a wind limit on the label, the rule bars spraying in sustained wind above 10 miles per hour. Low volatile ester herbicides may not go on around any home or garden when the day's temperature is, or is forecast to be, above 80 degrees Fahrenheit. Drift outside the target area is prohibited outright.
ISDA's own site would not load, so these are archived copies
From our server, agri.idaho.gov and legislature.idaho.gov timed out on 2026-10-01. Every ISDA and statute fact above comes from an Internet Archive copy, and the capture dates are in the text. A fee or rule changed after those dates would not show here.