Landscaping license by state: when mowing stays free and installs don't
Checked September 2026
Most states leave mowing, edging and cleanup unlicensed and start licensing when you install plants, sod, irrigation, retaining walls or hardscape. The trigger is either the type of work or a dollar threshold: $1,000 in California and Arizona, $25,000 in Tennessee, $30,000 in North Carolina, $50,000 on Mississippi commercial jobs. Licenses usually come with a bond, and some with required liability insurance.
There is no national landscaping license. Whether you need one depends on whether your state licenses landscape work at all and what work or dollar figure trips the license. The cost in bonds, insurance and exams comes after that. This page answers all of it for nine states, each from the licensing agency's own page or the statute. States we couldn't confirm from an agency page are listed further down as unconfirmed.
The pattern in the sources is consistent. Cutting lawns, edging and hand-weeding are the work states leave alone. Planting, sod, irrigation, retaining walls and grading are the work they license. Where the line falls in between is what the table is for.
Landscaping license requirements by state (9 states so far)
All rows were read on the agency pages on September 29, 2026 unless noted. Dollar figures are the agency's, and "not stated" means the page we read didn't say.
| State | Licensing body | What triggers a license | What the license needs | Work the source says is free |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Contractor licensing law, A.R.S. 32-1121 | Work outside the exemptions. Small jobs are exempt only under $1,000 in aggregate price, with no local building permit, not part of a larger operation, and advertising that says "not a licensed contractor" | Bond and insurance not confirmed | A person who functions as a gardener by performing lawn, garden, shrub and tree maintenance |
| California | Contractors State License Board, C-27 Landscaping Contractor | A project that needs a building permit, uses any employee labor, or totals $1,000 or more in labor and materials. The C-27 definition covers constructing, maintaining, repairing and installing landscape systems | $25,000 bond in place before licensing; a qualifier with four years of journey-level or supervisory experience in the last ten | Under $1,000 with no permit and no employees, and you don't advertise as licensed. A larger job can't be split to fit under the limit. Whether a recurring mowing contract counts isn't addressed on the pages we read |
| Louisiana | Dept. of Agriculture and Forestry, Horticulture Commission | Landscape Horticulturalist license for bed preparation, plant installation, sod, pruning, fertilizing and landscape maintenance. A separate Landscape Irrigation Contractor license for irrigation. Projects outside a home that cost $50,000 or more also need a State Licensing Board for Contractors license | Horticulturalist: $150 exam, $125 license. Irrigation: same fees, written contract with the owner, liability insurance of $25,000 per person bodily injury and $50,000 per person property damage | Cutting lawns, edging and hand-weeding beds |
| Mississippi | State Board of Contractors | Commercial work over $50,000 needs a commercial license. The Landscaping, Grading and Beautification classification covers landscaping, hardscaping, planting, groundcover, mowing and trimming, and excludes irrigation. The FAQ gives residential thresholds only for new construction (over $50,000), remodeling and additions (over $10,000) and roofing (over $10,000) | Classification requires a test; the board says to contact the Bureau of Plant Industry for other requirements. Proof of general liability insurance to get or renew a license: $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate for commercial applicants, no minimum for residential holders | Not stated for landscaping under the residential thresholds |
| Nevada | State Contractors Board | Installing rock, sand or gravel, decorative ponds, landscape retaining walls up to three feet, irrigation, planting trees, shrubs or other vegetation, and laying sod or hydroseeding | Surety bond and workers' comp, per the board's consumer guide | Mowing and edging, cleaning up and hauling debris, removing and trimming trees and shrubs, thatching |
| North Carolina | Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board | Landscape construction or contracting where the price of all contracts for a job site over 12 consecutive months is $30,000 or more. The license does not authorize irrigation contracting, which has its own statute | $75 application, $100 license and $100 renewal; $10,000 surety bond or letter of credit; a three-section exam; 7 continuing education units a year; renewal by August 1 | Anything under $30,000 per job site per 12 months. Local governments can't require a license for it |
| Oregon | Landscape Contractors Board | Compensated work that includes installing lawns, shrubs and trees, drainage and water features, irrigation, fences, decks, patios, walkways, retaining walls and tree removal. Two licenses: an individual landscape construction professional and the contracting business | $20,000 bond from January 1, 2026 ($15,000 probationary), $500,000 liability insurance with the board as certificate holder, workers' comp if you have employees | Property owners and their employees. A maintenance business is exempt for a customer who mainly buys maintenance, if all labor and materials for the year stay at $500 or less and the work is casual or minor, such as replacing a few sprinkler heads |
| Tennessee | Board for Licensing Contractors | A contractor's license before bidding on projects of $25,000 or more as a prime contractor (bidding directly to the owner). BC-29 Landscaping is a building sub-category | Business and Law exam and experience; no trade exam for up to five building sub-categories. Financial statement, or from July 1, 2026 a surety bond option | The sub-licensing rule lists electrical, mechanical, plumbing, HVAC, roofing and masonry; landscaping is not on it |
| Virginia | Board for Contractors (DPOR) | The lowest tier, Class C, starts at a single contract over $1,000. The landscape service contracting specialty covers alteration or improvement of land by excavation, clearing, grading, landscaping retaining walls or timbers. Landscape irrigation contracting is a separate specialty | Not confirmed | The definitions we read don't mention mowing or routine maintenance |
What the thresholds mean in practice
A few states set a dollar figure low enough to catch ordinary residential jobs. California's $1,000 line applies to labor and materials together, and the exemption disappears the moment you have a helper or the job needs a permit. Arizona's $1,000 exemption has the same shape, with the extra condition that your advertising must say you aren't a licensed contractor. Virginia's Class C tier starts at a contract over $1,000 too.
The higher thresholds protect a different job. North Carolina's $30,000 figure is the same one that separates a landscape contractor from a general contractor, and the board's FAQ says a landscape license holder doesn't need a general contractor license above that line. Tennessee's $25,000 and Mississippi's $50,000 commercial figure leave smaller installs below the line, and a $60,000 commercial install in Mississippi above it.
Then there are the states that license by the type of work. Nevada and Oregon list what needs a license: irrigation, planting, retaining walls, hardscape. Louisiana licenses plant work and irrigation and leaves yard work alone. Irrigation gets its own treatment in several states: Louisiana has a separate irrigation contractor license, North Carolina's landscape license doesn't authorize irrigation contracting, Virginia has a separate irrigation specialty, and Mississippi's landscaping classification excludes it.
How to get a landscaping license
The two most detailed processes in the sources are North Carolina's and Oregon's, and they look alike.
North Carolina: apply and pay the $75 application fee, file the $10,000 surety bond or an irrevocable letter of credit, take the three-section exam (the plant identification section is waived with a Certified Plant Professional result), then pay the $100 license fee. Renew by August 1 with 7 continuing education units.
Oregon: the individual license comes first. You apply, pass the exam sections through PSI, and pay the license fee. The business then applies with its liability insurance certificate, bond and workers' comp certificate, plus its formation documents. The business must be owned by, or employ, a licensed professional who supervises all landscaping work.
California wants four years of journey-level or supervisory experience in the classification, certified by people who saw the work. Tennessee's exam is business and law only for up to five building sub-categories, with the trade exam waived.
Lawn care business license
A state license for mowing itself does not show up in any of these sources. What does show up is local. Oregon's licensing board tells landscape businesses to check with the city or county for a local business license, and that is the piece most solo mowing operators need. If you add spraying, the state license is a different one: see the pesticide applicator license by state. Workers' comp and what HOAs and property managers ask for are on the requirements page.
Not confirmed
Florida, Texas and Washington are not in the table. Florida's contractor licensing site and the Texas irrigation regulator (TCEQ) would not load when this page was built, so Florida's irrigation specialty license and Texas's irrigator rules are unconfirmed. Washington's Labor and Industries page lists managing or consulting on landscaping projects among the activities that require contractor registration, but the statute's contractor definition never names landscaping, so where mowing or planting sits is not confirmed. The other states have not been checked yet, and one only enters the table after its licensing page has been read.
After the license
Every bond and insurance line above is a licensing minimum, and it's usually lower than what a client contract asks for. The landscaping insurance page covers the policies behind installs, and the certificate of insurance guide shows what a client will ask you to prove. A job that trips a contractor license in your state also tends to bring higher limits, so price the cost of both together on the cost page.