Irrigation license by state: the work that trips a license, and what each one costs
Checked October 2026
Sprinkler work trips a license at $2,500 per job site in North Carolina, a fraction of its $30,000 landscape line. Irrigation is licensed in its own right in Texas, Louisiana and North Carolina, and folded into landscape or contractor licenses in Oregon, Nevada, California, Arizona and Virginia. Oregon's board says repairing a sprinkler system needs a license, though its maintenance page lets a regular customer's crew replace up to three heads. Florida has no mandatory statewide irrigation license that we found.
A lawn care company can step over a licensing line with sprinkler work without noticing. Replacing a broken valve feels like maintenance. In some states it is a licensed trade with its own exam, and the rule that governs it is not the one that governs mowing. Ten states are below, each read from the agency or the statute that sets the rule, and the row says where a state's own pages disagree or didn't load.
Irrigation license requirements by state (10 states so far)
Every row was read on 2026-10-01 from the agency, statute or rule, except Texas, which comes from archive copies (see the last section). Where a cell says "not stated" or "not read", we have no figure to give.
| State | License and who issues it | Work that triggers it | Exam and experience | Bond or insurance | Fees stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | C-21 Hardscaping and Irrigation Systems classification, Registrar of Contractors | Installing, altering and repairing irrigation systems, including 120-volt-or-less wiring, potable water connections and backflow devices. Unlicensed work under $1,000 is exempt if it is casual, needs no permit, and any ad says "not a licensed contractor" | Not stated on the pages we read | Not stated | Not stated |
| California | C-27 Landscaping, Contractors State License Board. No separate irrigation class on the pages we read | The C-27 fact sheet lists irrigation systems among licensed work, at $1,000 or more in labor and materials. The C-27 study guide lists irrigation valves, controllers and troubleshooting among exam topics. The C-27 license page has the exam, bond and fees | See the C-27 page | See the C-27 page | See the C-27 page |
| Florida | No mandatory statewide irrigation license found. Plumbing contractors may install irrigation systems | Specialty categories are voluntary by statute; the irrigation specialty rule was repealed in 2024. Details on the Florida page | Not applicable | Not stated | Not applicable |
| Louisiana | Landscape Irrigation Contractor License, Department of Agriculture and Forestry (Horticulture Commission) | Constructing, installing, connecting, repairing, maintaining, improving or altering any part of a landscape irrigation system, wiring included | Exam, 70% to pass. A State Plumbing Board endorsement is needed before connecting to a water supply | Certificate of liability insurance: $25,000 per person bodily injury and $50,000 per person property damage. Written contract with the owner | $150 exam, $125 license, $125 annual fee. Seminar every three years |
| Nevada | State Contractors Board license | Installation of landscape irrigation is on the board's licensed-work list. Mowing and edging are on the not-needed list | The board's guide says licensed contractors passed trade and business law exams | Surety bond and workers' comp, per the guide | Not stated |
| North Carolina | Irrigation Contractor License, Irrigation Contractors' Licensing Board. Separate from the landscape license | Constructing, installing, expanding, servicing or repairing irrigation systems on a job site at $2,500 or more (the statute exempts jobs under $2,500; the board's FAQ says over $2,500) | Exam; three years of irrigation experience, or two years of related education per year of experience | $10,000 surety bond or letter of credit | $100 application, $340 first exam, $100 renewal each December 31. Ten hours of continuing education |
| Oregon | Landscape Contractors Board: an individual landscape construction professional license and a business license | Installing or repairing irrigation systems, and maintaining them with compressed air. Repair needs a license. Adjusting heads and programming controllers do not | Exam at PSI in person or virtually, through a Clackamas SBDC course, or the NALP Exterior Technician option. An Irrigation and Backflow Only phase tests laws, irrigation and backflow | $500,000 liability, a $20,000 bond from 2026 and workers' comp with employees | Not read |
| Texas | Landscape Irrigator license, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. Details on the Texas irrigation page | Selling, designing, installing, maintaining, altering, repairing, servicing or consulting on an irrigation system, or connecting one to a water supply | Required course, then an exam at 70% per section. No education or experience requirement | Not stated | $111 application and $111 renewal every three years |
| Virginia | Landscape irrigation contracting (ISC) specialty on a Class A, B or C contractor license, Board for Contractors | Installing, repairing, improving or removing irrigation or outdoor sprinkler systems. Class C starts at a contract over $1,000 | A qualifier with at least one year of experience (three for Class B) and a board-approved exam | Not stated for Class C | Not read |
| Washington | Pump and irrigation plumber (PL03), Department of Labor and Industries | PL03 covers equipment that acquires, treats, stores or moves drinking or irrigation water. The page says certification is not needed for plumbing outside a building except pump and pump-and-irrigation systems. Whether sprinkler pipe and heads need it isn't stated | At least 4,000 hours in the specialty under a certified plumber, plus electrical certification | Not stated | Not stated |
How the states split
Texas, Louisiana and North Carolina treat irrigation as its own trade, with its own board or program and its own exam, and the license number goes on the truck. Oregon, Nevada, California and Arizona put it inside a landscape or contractor classification, so the license you hold for installs is the one that covers sprinklers. Virginia adds it as a specialty on a general contractor license, and Washington reaches it through plumbing.
The dollar test differs too. North Carolina starts at $2,500, a fraction of its $30,000 line for landscape installs. Texas has no dollar floor at all in the rules we read: the trigger is the activity. Arizona and California sit at $1,000.
Oregon has the sharpest line between maintenance and licensed repair. Its board says that mowing, edging, weeding, adjusting sprinkler heads for coverage and programming controllers need no license. The same page lets a maintenance business replace up to three malfunctioning heads with matching ones for a regular customer, under $500 a job site a year. The board's licensing FAQ separately says that repairing irrigation or sprinkler systems requires a license. Both are on the board's site, and the three-head allowance is the only repair the maintenance page describes. Anything past three heads is a question for the board before it's a price.
One sprinkler repair can put you under a different license
A mowing route can pick up sprinkler work in a week. A customer asks the crew to fix a zone, and the crew can do it.
In Texas and North Carolina the way around it is a person. Texas lets a business owner without a license employ a licensed irrigator to supervise the work, and a helper working under a licensed irrigator's direct supervision is exempt too. A written pass-through contract can also send the irrigation portion of a job to a licensed irrigator or an exempt business owner. North Carolina exempts an unlicensed person who subcontracts to a licensed irrigation contractor when that contractor does all of the work.
Oregon's business license works on the same idea: the business must have a licensed landscape construction professional on the payroll to directly supervise the landscaping work of its unlicensed employees. Louisiana's pages describe a license held by the person doing the work, and say nothing about supervising an unlicensed crew.
North Carolina's landscape contractor license expressly does not cover irrigation contracting, which is why that state has a second board. The broader landscape picture is on the landscaping license page.
A failed irrigation job is a different claim from a crushed head
A licensing minimum is usually lower than the policy a client wants, and it answers a different question. Louisiana's $25,000 and $50,000 figures are a floor for the license. A property manager asks for the limits on the certificate of insurance, and a failed irrigation system after you've left is a completed operations claim, not a crushed-head claim.
The general liability guide treats sprinkler heads a mower breaks on a maintenance route, and the landscaping insurance page covers installs, repairs and the completed operations question. A licensed state can also ask for a bond that has nothing to do with the policy, so price both together on the cost page. Put the sprinkler work you do on the application.
What we couldn't confirm
Texas's environmental agency would not connect from our network, so the Texas row comes from archive copies of TCEQ pages dated April and July 2026, plus the statute and rules. Arizona's Registrar of Contractors site sat behind a bot check, so Arizona comes from the administrative code and the statute. Florida's licensing department did the same, and its details are on the Florida page.
Pesticide licenses are a separate set, listed in the pesticide applicator hub, and what each state asks of a lawn company on the insurance side is on the requirements page. Colorado, Georgia, Michigan and South Carolina have no row here: we didn't find an agency page that settled them, and a state only enters the table after we've read its page.