Best insurance for a lawn care business: eleven sellers compared from their own pages
Checked October 2026
Nobody can rank these sellers fairly: four of the eleven publish no lawn care premium, and the rest describe different things. Insureon's median general liability is $57 a month, Hiscox says as little as $30, Canopy starts at $33.75 for you and two employees, and Thimble sells from $8 an hour. Insureon and Canopy both say spraying sits outside a basic policy, and only Canopy spells out the limits of its snow add-on.
This page ranks no one. Each of the eleven sellers gets what its own lawn care or landscaping page says it covers, the price it publishes and whose price that is, how you buy, and a question to put to the rep before you pay.
Pages were read on October 1, 2026, except two. The biBERK and Progressive pages blocked our fetcher, so we read archived copies from August 24 and September 25, 2026.
The comparison at a glance
| Seller | Type | Published price for lawn care | How you buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Insureon | Broker | Median GL $57 a month (Insureon applicants) | Online application, compare quotes, licensed agents |
| TechInsurance | Broker | Median GL $46 a month (landscapers applying through Insureon) | Online application, licensed agent |
| The Hartford | Insurer | GL about $810 a year, all small businesses | Online quote or an agent |
| ERGO NEXT | Agency | "As little as $50" a month; 47% pay $36 to $55 | Online in about 10 minutes, monthly or annual |
| Thimble | Direct seller | $8 an hour to $43 a month (Thimble policies sold) | By the job, month or year |
| Simply Business | Broker | GL from $29.17 a month (10th percentile of its sales) | Several quotes, one application |
| Hiscox | Insurer | "As little as $30" a month, no basis given | Online or phone agent; monthly payments |
| biBERK | Insurer | None | Online or phone, direct |
| Progressive Commercial | Sells through affiliated and third-party insurers | None | Online, phone or independent agent |
| GEICO | Agency | None; the page says a partner provides the products | Online quote |
| Insurance Canopy | Online seller with licensed agents | From $33.75 a month or $375 a year (Canopy's starting price) | Online, monthly or annual |
TechInsurance and Insureon are one source twice. TechInsurance's cost page says its figures come from landscapers who apply with Insureon, and both sites' footers name the same parent, Specialty Program Group.
What the cheap numbers describe
Search for cheap lawn care insurance and you get the figures in that table, which can't be compared with each other. Simply Business's $29.17 is the 10th percentile of what it sold between July and December 2025, so nine in ten buyers paid more. NEXT's $50 is, per its footnote, the general liability minimum premium in Texas. Hiscox gives no basis for its $30. Canopy's $33.75 covers you and up to two employees, but its equipment cover is a separate add-on.
The medians are the better guide to what people pay: Insureon's $57 and TechInsurance's $46 for general liability, with every policy on the cost page. Thimble's $8 an hour makes sense for a handful of jobs. A weekly route belongs on a monthly policy.
Spraying, snow and equipment, as each page states them
| Seller | Spraying | Snow | Equipment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Insureon | Applicator coverage is an endorsement; GL otherwise excludes it | Own snow page; median GL $132 a month for snow contractors applying | Tools policy; items over $2,500 may need scheduling |
| TechInsurance | Pesticide endorsement optional | Not on the pages read | Items over $2,500 generally scheduled |
| The Hartford | Offers herbicide and pesticide coverage | Not mentioned | Through commercial property or a BOP |
| ERGO NEXT | Only a professional liability example | Lists snow plowing as its own profession | Add-on to GL |
| Thimble | Not stated | Listed as covered | Blanket cover under $2,500 |
| Simply Business | Not stated | Not stated | Separate policy, from $20.83 a month |
| Hiscox | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| biBERK | Not stated | Not stated | Endorsement to GL |
| Progressive | Not stated | Separate snow plow insurance link | Add to GL or BOP |
| GEICO | Says chemical work costs more | Not stated | Says it can replace tools |
| Canopy | Licensed applications not covered | Add-on, residential only | Add-on, from $155 a year |
"Not stated" means the page we read didn't say, not that the cover is missing. Policy wording is where these differences get settled, and the pesticide guide, snow guide and equipment guide say what to look for.
Insureon and TechInsurance
Insureon's cost page gives medians of policies for lawn care pros who applied through it: $57 for general liability, $123 for workers' comp, $42 for tools and $255 for commercial auto. Its main lawn care page lists workers' comp at $255, which matches the auto figure instead. It says licensed agents work with top-rated U.S. providers.
TechInsurance's medians are $84 for a BOP, $143 for workers' comp, $38 for tools and $190 for auto.
Ask either: "Which carrier is behind this quote, and does its form exclude spraying until I add the endorsement?"
The Hartford
The Hartford's lawn care page, updated May 26, 2026, says small businesses pay about $810 a year for general liability and about $1,687 for a BOP. Those are small-business averages, not lawn care ones, and the page calls them estimates. It sells short-term general liability for projects of two hours to two weeks, which fits a one-off fence install. What you want from them is the limit on the herbicide and pesticide coverage, and whether it is on your quote.
ERGO NEXT
NEXT is now ERGO NEXT, part of the ERGO Group. Its cost page says 47% of lawn care customers pay $36 to $55 a month for general liability, workers' comp has a median of $154, and tools average $31 for 43% of customers, from active-customer data updated in September 2026. The plan table shows $300,000 per occurrence on Basic and $1 million on Pro Plus, and $100,000 on Pro, while the cost page says $300,000 to $1 million per occurrence. Get the limit for the plan you're quoted in writing.
Thimble
Thimble lists lawn care, tree trimming and snow plowing among covered work, and says you get a certificate by email and can add additional insureds in its app. A client who wants a certificate for one contract is the case it fits. The page says nothing about chemical applications, so find out whether the policy excludes spraying or fertilizer and whether snow is rated on the same quote.
Simply Business
Simply Business prices from the 10th percentile of its July to December 2025 sales: GL from $29.17, workers' comp $38.91, a BOP $33.75. Limits run $1 million to $2 million and can vary by state. The page, updated August 27, 2026, says final price may include an initial down payment, and its only chemical example is an errors and omissions claim for over-fertilizing.
What to get from them: the full-year cost, and how much is due today.
Hiscox
Hiscox's page lists general liability only. It says claims from riding mowers and other self-propelled equipment are covered, offers monthly payments with no added fees, and puts you on the phone with a licensed agent. Whether that agent can cover your mowers and trailer, or only liability, is the thing to find out.
biBERK and Progressive Commercial
biBERK sells direct, says it saves up to 20%, and lists GL with a tools and equipment endorsement, hired and non-owned auto, workers' comp, a BOP, auto and umbrella. It publishes no premium.
Progressive's archived page lists GL, auto, a BOP, workers' comp and cyber, and names rating factors rather than prices, among them services, employees, location and claims history.
Ask biBERK: "What does the tools endorsement cap at, and does it include a trailer?" Ask Progressive: "Does the landscaper GL form exclude chemical application?"
GEICO
GEICO's page says it can help you find coverage and publishes no price. A notice on the page says GEICO Insurance Agency has partnered with another company to provide the products, and that the partner's website is not owned or operated by GEICO, so the first question is which company issues the policy and handles claims. The page lists general liability, a BOP, auto, workers' comp, cyber and professional liability.
Insurance Canopy
Canopy publishes its limits and add-on prices. Base general liability carries $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate. Add-ons: equipment from $155 a year, errors and omissions at $15 a month, and snow and ice removal at $217 a month. The snow add-on is residential only, up to 20% of annual revenue, and unavailable in New York. It says its policy does not cover licensed pesticide or herbicide applications.
Ask: "Which of my commercial snow accounts fall outside the residential limit?"
Not covered here
Coverdash, the broker Housecall Pro points to, has no lawn care page that we could find. We did not read regional agencies. If one publishes a price, apply the same test: whose customers, and which policy. The coverage page says what the policies pay for, and the general liability guide goes through the gaps a client's lawyer will ask about.